Gammy

On July 5th, 2007, my world got dark – everything was blurred and I was in pain. Her kind heart and soul traveled up to the gates of Heaven, she became my guardian angel. A week before, we went to her house late in the afternoon and saw her blinds had not been open, like they always were. We knew something was wrong. My grandma told me to stay in the car while she went to go check on her. The doors were locked, and of course we forgot the spare key. A day we thought we would spend laughing and traveling back in time turned into a day spent crying at the hospital. She had a stroke, and the doctors gave her four more days to live. Being the strong person that she was though, she lasted a week. At the end of her time, she called to her husband in Heaven, and we knew it was safer if she were with him up there. I will never forget that day, it’s etched into my memory so deep and I think about it often. I love you Gammy. You were my inspiration, but I know you are in a better place. I know you are looking down on me and smiling because I am living my dreams like you always told me to. ❤

Leave a Reply

