You Gave Love A Meaning

Love. If you would have asked me 1164 days ago what that four-letter word meant, I would have laughed and said it did not exist. But when I met him, he taught me that it did. He taught me that no matter what hardships you face, if it’s true love, you’ll make it through. He also taught me that you’ve gotta fight for what you love, or in this case, who you love. I have learned throughout the past three years that love isn’t easy. It’s actually probably the hardest thing ever. You put all of your faith in that one person, and in the end, it’s actually a pretty big risk. You never know when they could decide to give up and walk out of your life with absolutely no warning at all. That’s what I was used to. I was used to being hurt, being burned, being left. This is why I closed myself off from anybody and everybody, never letting myself get too close, for the fear of getting left again. But when you meet someone who exceeds all of your expectations, you want to let that person in, and you do, but you’re fearful to do so. You want to start living for this person as soon as possible because life without them would be unimaginable. You want to tell them every chance you get that you are absolutely in love with them and you wouldn’t have it any other way. It doesn’t mean that you don’t have fears, it doesn’t mean that you don’t have insecurities, you just have to let yourself be vulnerable.

That day, July 29, 2010, I met him. I saw him walking through the door, and I knew my life would be different from that moment on. His smile made my heart melt, and I wanted to get to know him. It took awhile, but eventually something amazing happened. He asked me to be his, and shortly after, I fell in love. Real, true, first, amazing love. I’m not saying that it was always easy, because it wasn’t, and I’m not saying that it will always be easy, but when I say that there’s nobody else I would rather be in love with, I mean it. That’s my vulnerable side. He stuck around all this time, during my grumpy moments, my sad moments, my angry moments, and most importantly my happy moments.

Leave a Reply

